Pro-Trump primary candidates take on GOP lawmakers who voted to impeach him

Reprinted from Sara Carter's news page.



By Jenny Goldsberry

The first election since the second impeachment of former President Donald Trump isn’t until next year, but pro-Trump candidates have already rallied support against Republican lawmakers who voted to impeach. Fox News broke down each candidate Monday.

Rep. Liz Cheney (R-WY) is one such congresswoman up for reelection in 2022. Not only did she vote to impeach then President Trump following Jan. 6th, but she was also recently ousted from her position as GOP Conference Chair. Pro-Trump Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY) took her place.

Now, state Sen. Anthony Bouchard is running against Cheney in the primaries. On Monday, he shared a Fox News article that reported his campaign fundraised over $500,000. He’s even changed his Twitter name to “Anthony Bouchard for Congress Against Cheney.”

However, Bouchard is not without scandal himself. He recently admitted that he impregnated a 14-year-old when he was 18-years-old at the time.

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA) will be facing off against four other Republican candidates in the primary election. Among them, is Green Beret Joe Kent. According to Kent, Herrera Beutler “no longer represents our community’s values.”

Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA) is also facing fierce competition in the same state. State Rep. Brad Klippert and Army veteran and author Loren Culp.

Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL) voted to impeach Trump and also supported Cheney while she was ousted. While it was a vocal vote that removed her as GOP Conference Chair, it was reported at the time that Kinzinger was one of the votes against her removal.

Now, a former Trump administration official is campaigning against him. Catalina Lauf worked in the Commerce Department under Trump. She says Kinzinger is a “fake Republican.”

Meanwhile, Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH) is also facing a former Trump aide, Max Miller. He already received Trump’s endorsement back in February, wearing it proudly in his Twitter bio.

Reps. Fred Upton, (R-MI), Peter Meijer (R-MI), David Valadao (R-CA) and John Katko (R-NY) are also up for reelection against pro-Trump candidates.

Read more here.

You can follow Jenny Goldsberry on Twitter @jennyjournalism.


NOTE: The opinions expressed in the Sara Carter posts are not necessarily (but probably pretty much) the opinions of Cogny Mann.

I don't necessarily endorse all content from this site but it's always good to get different perspectives.

Related posts